India Women vs Australia Women: A Maiden Historic Victory For Team India Over Australia

India Women Defeated Australia Women Testvia

In the one-off match in Mumbai, India Women easily defeated Australia by eight wickets. It is a record as India women defeated Australia women for the first time in a Test. Sneh Rana won the Player of the Match award. With eight wickets remaining, the team captained by Harmanpreet Kaur made it home. Australia chose to bat first in the match; however, they were bowled out for 219 runs. India responded with 406 runs to take a 187-run lead. Australia set a meager goal in the second inning, all out for 261, that did not trouble India.


India vs Australia Highlights

India Women Defeated Australia Women

Ellyse Perry and Tahlia McGrath spearheaded the comeback against India, swiftly eliminating a significant portion of the inning’s deficit.

Ellyse Perry took the lead during the opening tea session, while Tahlia McGrath proceeded cautiously. Perry’s half-ton went short by five. Sneh Rana replaced her and broke the 84-run combination between McGrath and Perry.

Tahlia McGrath went deep in the final session to smash her third half-century in a Test. After McGrath and captain Alyssa Healy struck 66 runs for the fourth wicket, Australia took a slight lead in the match. But Harmanpreet’s late move at Wankhede, taking out McGrath and Healy, turned the tide.

McGrath scored her highest Test score of 73 runs from 177 balls, while Healy added 32 runs. Australia reached 233/5 in 90 overs on Day 3 after the umpires ruled stumps, with Gardner and Sutherland still in the middle.


The Second Inning

Harmanpreet Kaur’s team had previously scored 406/10 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The Australian bowling attack quickly took three wickets to end India’s first innings in the Test match.

Renuka Singh (8 runs from 9 balls) and Pooja Vastrakar (47 runs from 126 balls) were both removed by Annabel Sutherland, who claimed two wickets. However, Deepti Sharma (78 runs from 171 balls) was crucially removed by Kim Garth at the crease.


At the beginning of their second inning, Australian openers Beth Mooney (33 runs from 37 balls) and Phoebe Litchfield (18 runs from 44 balls) could not stay long on the crease. In the twelfth over, Richa Ghosh ran Mooney out. Sneh Rana eliminated Litchfield in the fourteenth over. But Tahlia McGrath and Ellyse Perry were then batting first for Australia in their second inning, which has seen them take the visitors to 63/2 at lunchtime. The lead of 187 was too big for Australia.


Day 4 India Women Vs Australia Women

Australia started Day 4 at 233 for 5 with Ashleigh Gardner and Annabel Sutherland in the crease. However, Pooja Vastrakar provided the first breakthrough of the morning and dismissed Ashleigh Gardner LBW. After that, a double-wicket over from Sneh Rana dented all of Australia’s hope to get the lead excess of 100.

Smriti Mandhana Winning Run Australia Test

India needed 75 to win the Test match for the first time against Australia and they chased down the target comfortably with eight wickets to spare. Smriti Mandhana scored the winning run. Sneh Rana, for her impressive performance of 3/56 and 4/63, has been awarded a Player of the Match award.

India women have been undefeated in Test matches for 17 years. It is some streak. With these wins against Australia and England, we, as cricket fans, hope to see more women’s matches in Red ball cricket.

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter |

Youtube | Pinterest | Google News |

Entertales is on YouTube; click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Geetika Negi
the authorGeetika Negi
Content Writer
From algorithms to alliterations - a computer science student experimenting with the art of content writing.