NewsSportsTrendingWorld Cup 2019

Team India Squad For The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Is Announced


Indian Cricket fans have been eagerly waiting for the World Cup 2019 squad to be announced. While many of the Indians know that almost the entire squad is decided except for a couple of spots in the final 15. There is confusion for the spots in the Indian Cricket Team. The biggest confusion in front of the selection of India squad was regarding the No . 4 spot, but finally, it has been decided. Another spot of confusion was for the back-up keeper; Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Karthik. Check out the players what has made it to the India Squad for the World Cup 2019.


1. Shikhar Dhawan

indian cricket team

Shikhar Dhawan has been one of the very promising openers for Indian Cricket in past years. From scoring very less to scoring back to back tons, Dhawan has fixed his spot in the team as an opener. This Delhi boy has been roaring on the ground for 128 ODI matches. He has scored 5355 runs with an average of 44.62. His highest score is 143 and he carries a strike rate of 93.8. So far, he has hit 16 tons and  27 half centuries.


2. Rohit Sharma (VC)

Indian Cricket Team

We all know about the HITMAN of Indian Cricket Team, Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma is one of the very consistent players in the team. He has always proved himself to be worth relying on. This right-handed batsman from  Nagpur has played 206 ODIs in which he scored 8010 runs. The only player to hit three double tons in the ODI history has the highest score of 264. His average of 47.4 clearly states about his consistency, along with the strike rate of 87.95. He has hit 3 double tons, 22 tons and 41 half centuries. He is elected as the Vice Captain for World Cup.


3. Virat Kohli (C)

Virat Kohli Highest Paid Athletes

The Captain of Indian Cricket Team – who doesn’t know about this gentleman. Virat Kohli is ranked as one of the top batsmen in the world. The right-handed roaring lion from Delhi has played 227 matches so far. He has been scoring all this time, without any miss. He is considered to be the most consistent player. He has an average of 59.58 and a strike rate of 92.96. So far, captain Kohli has hit 41 tons and 49 half centuries. We are hoping that this wonderful captain of Indian Cricket Team makes us the world champions, yet another time. Virat Kohli also won the trio of ICC Awards. You can check out Virat Kohli most memorable innings.


4. KL Rahul


KL Rahul has come up as a very reliable player for the Indian Cricket Team. No. 4 spot was very much discussed and finally, the decision falls in the court of KL Rahul. Rahul is a right-handed-batsman from Mangaluru. He is very new to the format of ODI with 14 matches in his account. But he comes up with an average of 34.3, along with a strike rate of 80.9.


5. MS Dhoni

India Squad

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, ex-captain of Indian Cricket Team, who has won us the World cup in 2011. He was considered to be Captain Cool. He has proved his worth numerous times. Known for his match finishing skills, MS Dhoni will be the primary wicketkeeper. He has played 341 ODIs and scored over 10500 runs, with an average of 50.72. His highest score is 183 and he plays with a strike rate of 87.56. He has 10 tons and 71 half centuries. Check out the few records made by MS Dhoni which will be difficult to break.


6. Kedar Jadhav


Kedar Jadhav’s career has been full of ups and downs. He is a great player but it took plenty of time for the selectors to realize that. Kedar has proved his worth in games in the past and stood as a strong pillar for the team’s middle order. Kedar hails from Pune and is a brilliant right-handed allrounder.  He has played 59 ODI matches so far and has a strike rate of 123.23 and also a part-time spinner.


7. Vijay Shankar


From coming up as the most consistent player for the Tamil Nadu team, Vijay Shankar made his way to the World Cup Team. He has been consistent in all the formats of the game. He has played 9 ODI matches so far with a strike rate of 96.49. He can be used as a Fifth Bowler Option.

Amitesh Jain
the authorAmitesh Jain