Team India Squad For T20 Series Against Afghanistan: Rohit Sharma To Lead; Virat Kohli Is Back

Team India Squad For T20 Series Against Afghanistan

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are back in the Indian squad for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, which the BCCI confirmed on Sunday. After missing all international T20 matches since the T20 World Cup, Sharma and Kohli have returned to the T20I squad. Due to injuries, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya will be replaced by Rohit as the team’s captain.


T20I Indian Team Additions

The only international matches India will play before the 2024 World Cup in June are the three Twenty20 matches against Afghanistan. The three-match T20I series against South Africa featured all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who was named vice-captain throughout the series. However, Jadeja is not included in the team.

Sanju Samson was the most notable addition to the team; who was left out of the roster for the three-match T20I series against South Africa. Shivam Dube is another player who did not make the trip to the Rainbow Nation. However, he was still a member of the team that played the Twenty20 International Series against Australia.

Fast bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj have both been rested for forthcoming matches against Afghanistan. However, they are expected to return to the Test team for the match against England.


The T20I Match Locations

Indian Cricket Team (BCCI)

The three T20 matches versus Afghanistan are scheduled to occur in Mohali, Indore, and Bengaluru on January 11, 14, and 17, respectively.


India To Play 5 Match Test Series Against England

The first match of the five Test matches against England is scheduled to take place in Hyderabad on January 25. The series will conclude on March 11. The second will be held in Visakhapatnam from February 2–6, while the third will be held in Rajkot from February 15–19.

The final two tests are scheduled to take place at Ranchi and Dharamsala, respectively. The fourth test is scheduled for February 23–27, and the fifth from March 7–11.


Team India Squad For Afghanistan

India squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan squad: Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan

Are you excited for the T20 World Cup 2024? Make sure to share your opinions with us in the comment section below. We await your response!

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter |

Youtube | Pinterest | Google News |

Entertales is on YouTube; click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Geetika Negi
the authorGeetika Negi
Content Writer
From algorithms to alliterations - a computer science student experimenting with the art of content writing.