Rishabh Pant Loses Cool After No-Ball Umpiring Controversy In DC Vs RR Match

Rishabh Pant Controversy No Ball

Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals ended in a controversial finish after umpiring error in judgment. In the high-scoring game, Delhi Capitals were required 36 runs in the last over with Rovman Powell on strike. The first three balls went for back-to-back sixes, However, the third ball appeared to be no ball as it was above waist height. The umpires were adamant and did not call it a no-ball. They even did not consult the third umpire. Rishabh Pant, the captain of the Delhi Capitals was very annoyed with the umpiring and wanted the players to return from the field. After the things got settled, Rovman Powell could not connect the ball and Delhi Capitals lost the game by 15 runs.

Rishabh Pant calling players back IPL

It was such an amazing game that ended with controversy. This year in IPL 2022, the umpiring has been very poor. In the early games, Virat Kohli‘s decision of LBW was controversial. In the post-match presentation, Rishabh Pant accepted that it was not right to send Pravin Amre on the field. He said,

“I think they were bowling well throughout the game but in the end, Powell gave us a chance. I thought the no ball could have been precious for us. I thought we could have checked that no ball, but it’s not in my control.

Yes, disappointed, but can’t do much about it. Everyone was frustrated because it was not even close, so I thought it was only a no ball. Everyone in the ground saw that. I think third umpire should have intervened in between and said it was a no ball, but I can’t change the rule myself I guess. [When asked if it was okay to send a team management member onto the field to argue the lack of a no ball call].

Obviously it wasn’t right, but what happened with us was also not right. It was just the heat of the moment, can’t do much about it. I think it was the fault of both of the sides, not even only for us because throughout the tournament we have seen some good umpiring. I thought we could have done pretty well from there I guess. It hurts more when you go so close, especially to a match when the other team has scored 220 runs, but I feel we could have bowled a little better. It’s part and parcel of the game. I can only tell them to have their chin up and prepare for the next one right now.”

Twitteratis flooded with the tweets and putting their point of view on the micro-blogging site. Many people and cricket experts are against Rishabh Pant for calling the players and forfeiting the game.

Rishabh Pant may get penalized for his behavior by the match referee. What do you guys think? Which side you guys are on? Do you think it was a no-ball or umpires were right? Let us know in the comments below.

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter |

Youtube | Pinterest

Entertales is on YouTube; click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Praneet Samaiya
the authorPraneet Samaiya