These Players Have Played For The Most Number Of Teams In The IPL

Players played for Maximum teams in IPLvia

IPL is undoubtedly the most-watched cricketing league all over the world. The season 13 of IPL is going on in UAE. The excitement of the league is at its peak as half of the tournament is completed. The teams are leaving no stone unturned to book a place at Playoffs. Not only IPL, but even IPL auctions also excite the viewers. The auction gives us the lineups of the various franchises. There are many players who have played for different franchises in IPL. Let us check out the players who have played for six or more than six different franchises in different editions of IPL.


1. Aaron Finch (8 Teams)

Aaron Finch IPL

Aaron Finch, an Australian skipper is the only player who has played for eight IPL franchises. Aaron made his debut in IPL for Rajasthan Royals and it way back in 2010. In the next two editions, he played for Delhi Daredevils. In 2013, he captained team Pune Warriors, then he played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014. Aaron Finch was with Mumbai Indians in the year 2015. In 2016 and 2017, Aaron Finch played for Gujarat Lions. He was with Kings XI Punjab in 2018. Aaron Finch took a break in 2019 for World Cup preparations. This year 2020, he is playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Overall, he played for 8 teams, the most by any player in the history of IPL to date.


2. Thisara Perera (6 Teams)

Thisara Perera IPL

Sri Lankan player Thisara Perera is the only second overseas player to have played for six different IPL franchises. He played for Chennai Super Kings, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Rising Pune Supergiants. Thisara Perera has not been a part of the biggest cricketing league IPL since 2016.


3. Ishant Sharma (6 Teams)

Ishant Sharma IPL

Indian pacer Ishant Sharma has played for six IPL teams till now. He started his IPL career from Kolkata Knight Riders in 2008 and played for three seasons. In 2011, Ishant Sharma moved to Deccan Chargers. He played for Deccan Chargers for a couple of years and stayed with Sunrisers Hyderabad for two more years. In 2017, he played for Rising Pune Supergiants and with Kings XI Punjab in 2018. In 2019, he turned up for Delhi Capitals.


4. Parthiv Patel  (6 Teams)

Parthiv Patel IPL

Indian wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel has played for six teams. In 2008, he made his debut with Chennai Super Kings and was with the franchise till 2010. For the next three years, he played for three different teams Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Deccan Chargers, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the year 2014, he played for Royal Challengers Bangalore followed by Mumbai Indians for the next three years. Since 2018, Parthiv is a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore.


5. Dinesh Karthik (6 Teams)

Dinesh Karthik IPL

Another Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has also played for six different franchises. He made debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2008 and was with the franchise till 2010. In 2011, he played for Kings XI Punjab. For the next two seasons, he was with Mumbai Indians. In 2014, he played for Delhi Daredevils again followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2015. For 2016 and 2017, Dinesh Karthik played for Gujarat Lions. Since 2018, he is a part of Kolkata Knight Riders.

Whose name in the list surprised you the most? Which team you are supporting this year in IPL? Let us know in the comments below.

Entertales is on YouTube, Click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Praneet Samaiya
the authorPraneet Samaiya
Entrepreneur, Movie Critic, Film Trade Analyst, Cricket Analyst, Content Creator