Afghanistan And Ireland Got Test Match Status, Did You Know When India Got ?

Test Match



Afghanistan and Ireland are the two new members awarded as the test match status by International Cricket Council (ICC) on 22nd June 2017 thereby expanding the number of elite level nations for the first time in 17 years.

Both nations were confirmed as Full Members of the ICC after an unanimous vote at the ICC Full Council meeting at the Oval. 

Ireland having played their first 50-over World Cup in 2007 and immediately making an impact by beating Pakistan, Ireland have since participated in every ICC event, causing a few upsets along the way. 

Afghanistan, on the other hand, have grown tremendously since they received their One-Day status in 2011. Having failed to reach the World Cup the same year, the Asian side has made giant steps in ODIs and Twenty20 cricket. They qualified for the 2015 World Cup and won their first game in the mega event by beating Scotland.  

The number of countries eligible for playing Test cricket has now gone up to 12 from 10. The last country to have been given this status was Bangladesh way back in the year 2000.

Let us see when each and every team got the Test match status.

1. Australia and England (1877)

Test MatchRef

The first ever test match was played between Australia vs England in Melbourne Australia which Australia won by 45 runs.


2. South Africa (1889)

Test matchRef

South Africa got the test match status in 1889 and they played their first ever test match against England. The match was played at Port Elizabeth, South Africa which England won by 8 wickets.


3. West Indies (1928)

test matchRef

West Indies played their first ever test match against England in Lord's London and England defeated them easily by an innings and 58 runs.


4. New Zealand (1930)

Test SeriesRef

New Zealand played their first Test Match against England in Lancaster Park, Christchurch in New Zealand where England defeated them by 8 wickets.


5. India (1932)

Test MatchRef

India started their test career against England at Lord's London where they got defeated against strong English side by 158 runs.


6. Pakistan (1952)

Test SeriesRef

After divided from India, Pakistan got their test status in 1952. First ever test match for Pakistan was against India in 1952 at Feroz Shah Kotla Delhi, where India beaten them easily with an innings and 70 runs.


7. Sri Lanka (1982)

Test SeriesRef

Sri Lanka got their test match status in 1982 and they played the first test match against England in P Saravanamuttu Stadium Colombo where England defeated them by 7 wickets.


8. Zimbabwe (1992)

Test SeriesRef

Zimbabwe got their test match status in 1992 and they played their first test match against India at Harare Sports Club, Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe is the second team after Australia who has not lost their inaugural test match. The match was drawn.


9. Bangladesh (2000)

test matchRef

Bangladesh played their debut test match against their neighbors India at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka in 2000. Bangladesh fought well but India were too strong for them and got defeated by 9 wickets.

We congratulate Afghanistan and Ireland Cricket Team for getting Test match status; their hard work paid off.  

Praneet Samaiya
the authorPraneet Samaiya
Entrepreneur, Movie Critic, Film Trade Analyst, Cricket Analyst, Content Creator

Leave a Reply