These BJP MPs Who Won State Assembly Elections Have Resigned From Lok Sabha

BJP MPs Resign From Lok Sabha

In a strategic political maneuver, many Members of Parliament from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), including two Union ministers, have tendered their resignations from the Lok Sabha. The decision comes in the wake of their triumph in the State Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Rajasthan. This article delves into the details of this significant development, exploring the motivations behind the resignations and the potential ramifications for both the national and state political landscapes.


Notable Resigning MPs And Their States

Narendra Singh Tomar

The ten BJP MPs who have resigned include prominent names like Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel, Rakesh Singh, Uday Pratap Singh, and Riti Pathak from Madhya Pradesh; Arun Sao and Gomati Sai from Chhattisgarh; and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Baba Balaknath, Diya Kumari, and Kirodi Lal Meena from Rajasthan.


Strategic Decision After High-Level Meetings

JP Nadda Shivraj Singh

This move was not arbitrary; it followed high-level discussions involving the MPs, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and BJP President JP Nadda. The decision was a collective one, reflecting the party’s strategic vision to bolster its national and state influence.


Constitutional Implications And Oath-Taking as MLAs

Prahlad Singh Patel

According to constitutional provisions, winning MPs needed to resign within 14 days to avoid losing their Parliament membership. Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Prahlad Singh Patel and others resigned to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar. Subsequently, these leaders are poised to take oaths as Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) in their respective states.


Potential Chief Minister Contenders

Shivraj Singh Chouhan MP

Among those resigning, Narendra Singh Tomar and Prahlad Singh Patel, both Union ministers, are being considered contenders for the post of Chief Minister in Madhya Pradesh. Their transition to state legislatures signals a strategic move to position experienced leaders in key state roles.


Rajasthan And Chhattisgarh Resignations

In Rajasthan, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Diya Kumari have stepped down from the Lok Sabha after their victories in the state elections. Additionally, Kirori Lal Meena, triumphant in the Rajasthan polls, resigned from the Rajya Sabha. In Chhattisgarh, State President Arun Sao and Gomati Sai, winners in the assembly elections, have also relinquished their Parliament memberships.


Meeting With Prime Minister Modi

PM Narendra Modi

Before the formal resignations, the MPs met with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President JP Nadda. This meeting underlines the unity and coordination within the party, showcasing a harmonious decision-making process.


Implications On Lok Sabha Dynamics

The resignations temporarily reduced the BJP’s numerical strength in the Lok Sabha. This shift in dynamics could influence legislative processes, especially if the margin of majority becomes narrower. The ensuing by-elections will be closely observed for any impact on the national political scenario.


Election Triumphs

Indian Elections

These MPs, who are now resigning from the Lok Sabha, emerged victorious in their respective State Assembly elections. Their wins underscore the growing influence of the BJP across different regions, reflecting the party’s expanding footprint beyond the national capital.

The resignation of ten BJP MPs from the Lok Sabha after their victories in State Assembly elections signifies a calculated move to strengthen the party’s presence at the state level. The strategic decisions made after high-level consultations showcase the BJP’s commitment to adapt to the evolving political landscape. As these leaders transition to state assemblies, the ensuing by-polls and potential leadership changes will undoubtedly shape the future course of both state and national politics.

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter |

Youtube | Pinterest | Google News |

Entertales is on YouTube; click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Praneet Samaiya
the authorPraneet Samaiya
Entrepreneur, Movie Critic, Film Trade Analyst, Cricket Analyst, Content Creator